As soon as I saw the title, I snickered. Noobs are afraid to say they’re noobs, but everyone was a noob at one time (maybe not)…This is a good idea, and it’s a good job.
R

Escape Velocity

Since my last posts explaining how Bitcoin works were a bit of a success, I figured I would continue the series. So far we’ve discussed Bitcoin mining, the incentives and the cryptography used in the protocol. However, I glossed over a key element in the Bitcoin ecosystem — digital signatures. This was partly because my goal in the previous posts was only to introduce you to mining, but also because digital signatures are important enough that they deserve their own post. If you’re reading this, I’m going to assume you have limited knowledge of cryptography. So instead of jumping right into digital signatures, I’m going to start by providing a broad introduction to cryptography. Hopefully you’ll learn not just how Bitcoin works, but also how to stay safe on the internet by keeping your private information away from prying eyes.

The Basics

“There are two kinds of cryptography in this…

View original post 2,357 more words

